Vidyasagar University, Midnapore

Department of Political Science

Notice

A Meeting of the PhD Committee will be held on 27 April 2021 at 7.00 PM, to discuss the following agenda:

- 1. Confirmation of the proceeding s of the previous Meeting dated 14 October 2020;
- 2. Selection of supervisors of the newly admitted Ph.D. Scholars (2020-21);
- 3. Ph.D. Pre-submission seminars by research scholar(s);
- 4. Letter submitted by research scholar(s) seeking extension of Ph.D. thesis submission deadline;
- 5. Miscellaneous.

All the Members, Ph.D. Committee, are requested to make it convenient to attend the Meeting. Given the current pandemic situation, the Meeting shall be held on Online, on Google Meet.

The Secretary, Ph.D. Committee shall generate the Invitation Link.

Dr Sujay Ghosh,

Lehoh

Secretary, PhD Committee, Dated 18 April 2021

Copy to:

- 1. Prof Ranjan Chakrabarti, Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, VU and Chairman, PhD Committee
- 2. Prof Sibaji Pratim Basu, Vice Chairman, PhD Committee and faculty member,

 Department of Political Science, VU
- 3. Prof Ambarish Mukherji, Member, PhD Committee and faculty member, Department of Political Science, VU

- 4. Prof Raj Kumar Kothari, Member, PhD Committee and faculty member, Department of Political Science, VU
- 5. Prof Sumit Mukerji, Department of Political Science, University of Kalyani



Proceedings

The Vice- Chairman, PhD Committee, took the Chair in the beginning of the Meeting held on 27 April 2021 (Online mode). The following **Resolutions** were adopted:

Agenda 1:

The proceedings of the previous PhD Committee Meeting dated 14 October 2020 were read out and confirmed.

Agenda 2:

The following five PhD Scholars, admitted in the **Academic Year: 2020-21**, were assigned with their Supervisors:

Name	Proposed Topic	Supervisor
Arunava Das	The Bengal Enclave and	Dr Suratha Kumar Malik
	Politics: Highlighting the Role	
	of NGOs and Women	
Manoj Bisai	Identity Politics and Movement	Dr. Eyasin Khan
	for Autonomy: A Study of the	
	Greater Cooch Behar	
	Movement in North Bengal	
Madhubanti Ganguly	Regional Connectivity In South	Professor Raj Kumar
	Asia Since 1990s: The Indian	Kothari
	Perspective	
Sanika Banerjee	A Study of Riverine Changes	Dr Swatilekha
	and Humanitarian Crisis in the	Bhattacharya
	Chars of Malda and	
	Murshidabad	
Suchetana Paul	The Citizenship (Amendment)	Professor Sibaji Pratim
	Act, 2019 and 'Bio-Power': An	Basu
	Insight on North 24 Parganas	
	Based on Differences in	
	Literacy	

Agenda 3:

Two Research Scholars: (1) Kalyanasish Bhattacharya; and (2) Priyanka Bhaduri made

their Pre-Submission Seminars in a forum opened to VU community for this purpose. Their

work was well-appreciated by other teachers and scholars present; and they were advised to

incorporate a few points before making the final submission.

Both of the Research Scholars are working under the guidance of **Professor Raj Kumar**

Kothari, who has also submitted the complete List of Adjudicators for each candidate. They

have been duly approved by the PhD Committee.

Agenda 4:

The PhD Committee has favourably considered the appeals of three Research Scholars for the

extension of their tenure for submission of PhD Thesis: (1) Kalyanasish Bhattacharya; (2)

Mousumi Kundu; and (3) Sarbani Bera. Accordingly, the Committee resolved to

recommend their extension for a period of one year, to University authorities for their

approval.

Miscellaneous:

The following newly-admitted PhD Candidates (2020-21) had applied for exemption from

PhD Coursework, as they have completed Coursework during M. Phil: Arunava Das,

Manoj Bisai, Madhubanti Ganguly, Sanika Banerjee and Suchetana Paul. The PhD

Committee has favourably considered their appeals favourably and resolved to forward them

to University authorities.

There being no other issues, the Meeting ended with thanks to and from the Chair.

Dr Sujay Ghosh

Lehoh

Secretary, PhD Committee, Department of Political Science, VU