Vidyasagar University, Midnapore

Department of Political Science

Notice

A Meeting of the PhD Committee will be held on 14 October 2020 at 2.30 PM, to discuss the following agenda:

- 1. Confirmation of the proceeding s of the previous Meeting
- 2. PhD Pre-submission Seminar by SantiSarkar, Raj Kumar Kothari and Sonika Sharma from the Department of Political Science
- 3. Miscellaneous

All the Members, PhD Committee, are requested to make it convenient to attend the Meeting. Given the current pandemic situation, the Meeting shall be held on Online, on Google Meet. The Secretary, PhD Committee shall generate the Invitation Link.

Dr Sujay Ghosh,

Secretary, PhD Committee, Dated 7 October 2020

hoh

Copy to:

- 1. Prof Ranjan Chakrabarti, Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, VU and Chairman, PhD Committee
- 2. Prof Sibaji Pratim Basu, Vice Chairman, PhD Committee and faculty member, Department of Political Science, VU
- 3. Prof Ambarish Mukherji, Member, PhD Committee and faculty member, Department of Political Science, VU
- 4. Prof Raj Kumar Kothari, Member, PhD Committee and faculty member, Department of Political Science, VU
- 5. Prof Sumit Mukherjee, Department of Political Science, University of Kalyani

Vidyasagar University, Midnapore Department of Political Science

PhD Committee Meeting

A Meeting of the PhD Committee, Department of Political Science was held on 14 October 2020.

Members Present

- 1. Professor Sibaji Pratim Basu, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Commerce (and also Member, PhD Committee, Department of Political Science)
- 2. Professor Sumit Mukherji, Dept. of Political Science, Kalyani University (External Member)
- 3. Prof Ambarish Mukherji, Member, PhD Committee and faculty member, Department of Political Science, VU
- 4. Prof Raj Kumar Kothari, Member, PhD Committee and faculty member, Department of Political Science, VU
- 5. Dr. Sujay Ghosh, HoD, Political Science & Secretary, PhD Committee

Professor Sibaji Pratim Basu, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Commerce (and also Member,

PhD Committee, Department of Political Science), took the Chair.

The following Resolutions were adopted:

 The Resolutions of the previous Meeting dated 13 December 2019 were read out and confirmed.

PhD Pre-Submission Seminar

2. Santi Sarkar, made his PhD Pre-submission presentation on the topic: "Hunger and

Politics in Bengal (2000-2010): In the Light of Right to Food". Professor Sumit Mukherjee, the External Expert and other members of the PhD Committee asked questions and were satisfied with his answers. They also gave a few suggestions for the improvisation on his final Thesis, which he agreed to incorporate.

- 3. The PhD Committee approved the "List of Examiners" presented by Professor Sibaji Pratim Basu, supervisor of Santi Sarkar.
- 4. Sonika Sharma, made her PhD Pre-submission presentation on the topic: "Soft Power Diplomacy in Indian Foreign Policy: Emerging Scenario". Professor Sumit Mukherjee, the External Expert and other members of the PhD Committee asked questions and were satisfied with her answers. They also gave a few suggestions for the improvisation on her final Thesis, which she agreed to incorporate.
- The PhD Committee approved the "List of Examiners" presented by Professor Raj Kumar Kothari, supervisor of Sonika Sharma.
- 6. Ankita Chakraborty, made her PhD Pre-submission presentation on the topic: "The Status of Indian Migrants in Myanmar During the Colonial and Contemporary Periods". Professor Sumit Mukherjee, the External Expert and other members of the PhD Committee asked questions and were satisfied with her answers. They also gave a few suggestions for the improvisation on her final Thesis, which she agreed to incorporate.
- 7. The PhD Committee approved the "List of Examiners" presented by Professor Raj Kumar Kothari, supervisor of Ankita Chakraborty.

Miscellaneous

8. The PhD Committee has approved the request of Chiranjit Bar, PhD Research

scholar, for: (i) Exemption of Coursework requirements, as he passed M. Phil course (2016-2018) in Political Science, Vidyasagar University; and (ii) Issuance of PhD enrollment number.

There being no other issues, the Meeting ended with thanks from and to the Chair.

Dr Sujay Ghosh, Secretary, PhD Committee, Dated 14October 2020

Copy to:

- 1. **Prof Sibaji Pratim Basu**, Vice Chairman, PhD Committee and faculty member, Department of Political Science
- 2. **Prof Ambarish Mukherji**, Member, PhD Committee and faculty member, Department of Political Science
- 3. **Prof Raj Kumar Kothari**, Member, PhD Committee and faculty member, Department of Political Science
- 4. Prof Sumit Mukherjee, Department of Political Science, University of Kalyani