Notice for Emergency Meeting

Recently, two letters having the same content and subject-matter was delivered to the Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, Vidyasagar University (VU), demanding remission of all fees and immediate re-opening of the University campus. Those letters were sent by two students from the Department of Political Science, VU. The Hon'ble Vice Chancellor has asked the Department of Political Science, VU to look into the matter. In view of the communication from received the Hon'ble Vice Chancellor today, the Department of Political Science VU proposes to convene an Emergency Meeting on <u>18 January 2021 at 12.00 PM</u>. Members of the Department of Political Science, VU and those two students are requested to attend the Meeting, for having a free and frank exchange of opinions.

Many thanks

Dr. Sujay Ghosh, HoD, the Department of Political Science, VU; 13 January 2021

Today, on **18 January 2021**, we the following members present had an amicable discussion with the concerned students, who are also activists from a students' organisation. The Dean, Faculty of Arts; and faculty-member of the Department, was also present in the Meeting. Students have explained the hardships they face, particularly due to poor Internet connectivity in their areas, often located in remote places. In addition, due to the Covid-19 pandemic and its fallout, many of them face acute hardships as their family income and livelihood has been seriously jeopardised. We explained them that despite much resource constraints, the University has waived many fees, particularly on students' admission. At the same time, the university maintains its current services and facilities quite satisfactorily. Secondly, we teachers are also very eager to join the University and waiting for the normal course of life to resume. It is also painful for us to bear this distance from students and the University. The students agreed to our point of view and agreed that we are also sensitive on their problems. The meeting ended in an amicable manner.

Professor Sibaji Pratim Basu, Dean, Faculty of Arts, VU

Dr Sujay Ghosh, HoD, the Department of Political Science, VU

Dr Eyasin Khan, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, VU

Dr Suratha Kumar Malik, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, VU

Dr Swatilekha Bhattacharya, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, VU

Shri Dhrubajyoti Pramanik, Student

Shri Jagannath Jana, Student