Department of Political Science Vidyasagar University

Midnapore, West Bengal - 721 102.

Notice 22 August 2020

The Department wishes to organize an Online Meeting on **29 August 2020**, at 7.00 PM, to discuss the following issues:

- 1. Confirmation of the proceedings of the last DC Meeting.
- 2. Discussing on organisng an International Seminar
- 3. Drawing up the Tentative List of Speakers
- 4. Finalizing Dissertation topics of M. Phil scholars and assigning Supervisors to them
- 5. Miscellaneous

The Head of the Department (HoD) shall generate a link through the Google Meet for conducting the Meeting and share the link with other members in the Department.



Dr Sujay Ghosh, HoD

Resolutions:

- 1. The minutes of the previous DC Meeting of 05 July 2020 were read out and approved unanimously by the Members.
- 2. Agenda 2: Instead of a Seminar, it is better to organize an International Workshop on the pandemic, which is still ongoing without any clear-cut direction.
- 3. Agenda 2: The workshop will explore the broader socio-human implications of the pandemic. The proposed theme is: "Pandemic, Migration and the Politics of Life"; the details programme schedule and business session will be drawn up.
- 4. Agenda 2: Dr Suratha Kumar Malik and Dr Swatilekha Bhattacharya have kindly accepted the Department's request to work as Convenors for the proposed Workshop.
- 5. Agenda 2: the Kolkata based internationally acclaimed think tank: Mahanirban Calcutta Research Group (MCRG) will be invited to join us.
- 6. Agenda 2: the Workshop will be held online.
- 7. Agenda 3: In addition to faculty members of both Vidyasagar University and MCRG, research scholars will also be invited to present their paper.
- 8. In the context of continuing uncertainties, the Department, after consulting with M.Phil scholars, agrees to their Dissertation topics and assign Supervisors to them. The full list is attached herewith.
- 9. There being no other issues, the Meeting ended with thanks to and from the Head of the Department.

Midnapore, West Bengal – 721 102.

Members

- 1. Prof Ambarish Mukherji
- 2. Prof Sibaji Pratim Basu
- 3. Prof Raj Kumar Kothari
- 4. Dr Sujay Ghosh
- 5. Dr Eyasin Khan
- **6.** Dr Suratha Kumar Malik
- 7. Dr Swatilelkah Bhattacharya

The details of **M. Phil Dissertation Topics (2019-21)** are provided below. However, it is **Tentative**, to be finalised after the Supervisor and Scholars meet together. Scholars are requested to contact their Supervisor at the earliest

Candidate	Roll	Proposed Dissertation Title (Tentative)	Supervisor
Soumya Mandal	01	Relevance of North-South dialogue on climate justice in 21st century.	SB
Mahirul Islam	02	Indo- Iran Relations after the Cold War: A Realist Perspective of International Relations Theory	SB
Mohammda Uzair	03	Rural Leadership Among Scheduled Tribes in West Bengal: A Study of Selected Blocks in Hooghly District.	EK
Moinuddin Pramanik	04	The National Register Of Citizens in Assam: Understanding The Crisis of identity and Political Environment since the Assam Accord 1985.	EK
Nandan Nayak	05	Economic Ideas of Dr. B. R. Ambedkar and Its Contemporary Relevance	SKM
Amit Lugun	06	Communicating Public Policies: State, Civil Society And Mass Media: Through A Development Communication Perspective	SG
Suman Kumar Shee	07	Globalisation and the LGBT Community in India, their Struggle for Human Rights.	SPB

Kamal Krishna Halder	08	Ambedkar in retrospect: Dalitization, Privatization and	SKM
		Discrimination in 21st Century's India	
Nivedita Panda	09	India's Act East Policy: A Counteraction To Regional	RK
		Instability	
Buddhadeb De	10	Conceptualizing Governance	SG
Indrajit Samanta	11	Agricultural Cooperative in West Bengal: A study of Contai	SG
		Deshapran Block	
Nur Alam Mollah	12	Development in the Indo-Pacific and India's strategy	RK
Mozahid Ansari	13	Human Rights and Gender Issues In West Bengal: A Case Study of Women In Hura Block In Purulia District	EK

SPB= Professor Sibaji Pratim Basu; **RK**= Professor Raj Kumar Kothari; **SG**= Dr Sujay Ghosh; **EK**= Dr Eyasin Khan; **SKM**= Dr Suratha Kumar Malik; **SB**= Dr Swatilekha Bhattacharya

Dr Sujay Ghosh, HoD Political Science, on behalf of M.Phil committee, Department of Political Science, VU

Short